Pair of Yankees named 2017 AL Gold Glove Finalists

NEW YORK, NY - OCTOBER 17: Aaron Hicks
NEW YORK, NY - OCTOBER 17: Aaron Hicks /

If you were consumed by the news that Joe Girardi will not be returning to manage the Yankees next season, you may have missed both Brett Gardner and Aaron Judge being selected as finalists for a 2017 AL Gold Glove Award.

Thursday was a big day in Yankees land.

The one piece of good news coming out of New York (depending on which side of the fence you’re on with Joe Girardi not returning to the dugout in 2018), was the fact that presumptive AL Rookie of the Year, Aaron Judge, and 10-year veteran, Brett Gardner were named as Gold Glove finalists at their respective positions (left field and right).

Gardner, who won his first such award last season is now a four-time finalist and potential favorite to repeat — if I do say so myself. After all, he is the only major league player to not make a single error in 2017.

Up against Alex Gordon of the Royals and Justin Upton of the Angels for top left field honors, Gardner had a most impressive season with the glove, racking up 241 putouts and 12 outfield assists in 1188.2 innings played (164.2 of which were actually in centerfield).

More from Yanks Go Yard

As for Judge, who may very well win the AL MVP Award, the 25-year-old rookie showed the baseball world that he’s absolutely lethal on both sides of the ball.

I mean, do you remember his game-changing plays against the Indians in the ALDS and Astros in the ALCS? The right field wall at Yankee Stadium will never be the same.

In 1238.2 innings played in right field, Judge made 265 putouts, five outfield assists, committed only five errors and even turned two double plays. He’ll have some stiff competition in the form of Mookie Betts of the Red Sox and Kole Calhoun of the Angels.

When a player can not only mash 52 home runs but is credited with nine defensive runs saved and 94 out-of-zone-plays, it’s hard to imagine Judge not winning the award at some point in his career.

Next: End of the Joe Girardi era in the Bronx

The 60th annual Gold Glove Award winners will be announced on Nov. 7 at 9 PM on ESPN. Immediately after, one player from each league will be named a Platinum Glove winner.

Could Brett Gardner win the distinguished award? Why not!