Bizarre MLB rule change helps Anthony Rizzo, screws Carlos Rodón

What are we even doing here, and why are we doing it?
Miami Marlins v New York Yankees
Miami Marlins v New York Yankees / Jim McIsaac/GettyImages

Carlos Rodón apparently didn't hurt himself staring at the eclipse, but the umpires in New York should probably get their eyes checked based on their extremely delayed assessment of his most recent start.

Nearly one full week after Rodón last toed the rubber, mastering the Miami Marlins with a devastating, newly unfurled changeup for six-plus frames, his ego took a hit on Tuesday morning at the exact wrong time, hours before he was set to face the Blue Jays and halt a losing streak.

Rodón exited that sterling start with runners on base, and two of them eventually scored before the Yankees' bullpen was able to eke out a 3-2 win, their 10th of the season.

Unfortunately, the league office declared on Tuesday that, retrospectively, both runs were Rodón's fault. In the moment, the umpires assigned Jazz Chisholm to first base on a fielding error by Anthony Rizzo. After having some time to mull it over (168 full hours), they've now decided that the ball was hit hard enough to qualify as a single, raising Rodón's ERA by a point and reducing Rizzo's error total from four to three.

Yankees first baseman Anthony Rizzo gets error taken away, Carlos Rodón's ERA artificially rises

While Rodón probably won't comment on this gibberish, something tells us that Ashley might have some thoughts on Twitter. She'd have every right to.

Not only was this call changed retroactively while no one was looking, but ... it still looks like an error, man! Not like the umpires clearly missed one and had to pivot in silence to save their own buns. Got it right the first time! Error.

If you polled Rizzo and Rodón anonymously, I'd bet Rizzo would be totally fine accepting the error, while Rodón wouldn't be thrilled to see his ERA balloon undeservedly to near-3.00 after battling through tough starts in Houston and Arizona relatively unscathed.

Hopefully, this remains an unfortunate footnote and not an itch Rodón can't scratch for the next several outings.