Yoenis Cespedes Takes Home The Home Run Derby Championship For The Second Year In A Row

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

Jeff Curry-USA TODAY Sports

Lightning struck twice tonight, as Yoenis Cespedes won the Home Run Derby for the 2nd year in a row. He took out Todd Frasier 9-1 in the championship round to win by the largest margin in Derby history. Needless to say, MLB’s new bracket format lacked much of the competitiveness the league hoped it would stimulate.

Tonight was no doubt a worst case scenario for Major League Baseball. The somewhat predetermined format of the Derby showcased very uneven sides and did not allow the best players to advance through. Let’s review each round of this year’s 2014 Home Run Derby!

Use your ← → (arrows) to browse

comments powered by Disqus