Oct 12, 2012; Bronx, NY, USA; New York Yankees former player David Cone throws out the ceremonial first pitch before game five of the 2012 ALDS against the Baltimore Orioles at Yankee Stadium. Mandatory Credit: John Munson/THE STAR-LEDGER via USA TODAY Sports

Cone and Gardner Among Thurman Munson Award Winners

This year’s Thurman Munson Award winners will certainly have a Yankees flavor to them. David Cone, Brett Gardner and Jim Kaat are among the winners of the award from the AHRC New York City Foundation. The dinner will take place Tuesday, February 4.

Gardner (for now) is the New York Yankees speedy left-fielder, who will be entering a pivotal season in his career. Cone was a rock on the Yankees dynasty-era teams of the late 1990’s and is a five-time World Series champion and excellent broadcaster with the YES Network. Speaking of broadcasting, Kaat was a part of Yankees broadcasts from 1995-2006 and is now with the MLB Network.

Other recipients of the award are New York Mets pitcher Dillon Gee, New York Giants safety Antrel Rolle and NBA Hall of Famer and former New York Knick, Bernard King.

This is the 34th year of the ceremony as the dinner benefits New York City children and adults with intellectual and developmental disabilities.

Congrats to all the winners.

Tags: Brett Gardner David Cone Jim Kaat New York Yankees News Thurman Munson Awards

comments powered by Disqus