Roy Halladay wins second Cy Young

A big shocker here: Philadelphia’s Doc Halladay unanimously took home the NL Cy Young award. It’s his second career Cy Young and first in the NL.

The man threw a perfect game in May and then a no-hitter in the playoffs. He also lead the NL in wins (21), innings pitched (250.1), shutouts (4), complete games (9), BB rate (1.1 BB/9), K/BB ratio (7.3) and a few other sabermetric stats I don’t understand. He walked just 29 men (unintentionally) in 33 starts. Go back and read that last sentence, it’s not a typo. Doc became the player to fan 200 batters and walk fewer than 30 since Cy Young himself did it in 1905. #hesfilthy

In addition, he became just the fifth player in MLB history to win a Cy Young in each league (Gaylord Perry, Rocket, Randy Johnson and Pedro). I don’t know about you, but I’m glad he’s not in the AL East anymore.

Adam Wainwright (STL) came in second by a 102-point margin and Ubaldo Jimenez (COL) finished third.

Tags: NL Cy Young

comments powered by Disqus